New Camera! CANON 650D Vs. CANON 600D

Earlier in this summer, I purchased my Canon 600D my camera especially for my A2 project. As I was getting myself used to it, I decided to film a video which demonstrates test footages of the camera, its sound quality and the zooming options with 55mm lens. The reason I did this was because I was not able to find such a detailed video that could help me when I was thinking of buying this camera, therefore, my video shall help others if they are planing to buy this camera.

You could contrast this to the test footages of the Canon 650D in Shane’s blog and see if you spot any differences.

My teammates and I have decided to use a DSLR camera, and since I owned the Canon 600D, also known as Canon T3I in America, we were going to use it. However, my teammate Shane had been saving up to buy the Canon 650D (T4I) which is slightly better than the 600D. Both are very much the same, however, the 650D is slightly easier to use while filming.
The grid below shows the qualities, differences and similarities between each camera.
Screen Shot 2013-04-04 at 07.43.55

Screen Shot 2013-04-04 at 07.44.17

Screen Shot 2013-04-04 at 07.44.35

The reason why we all wanted to use a DSLR camera is because it helps give a cinematic look. It also provides a much improved video quality compared to the school’s 1080p Toshiba digital camcorder, which we had used in our AS production. Once downloaded, we will be able to use the ‘cinestyle’ look/effect. This and changing the settings to 24 frames per second will give us a very realistic cinematic look. Finally, the focusing ability in this camera and blurred background effect will improve the construction of the depth of field in our film, giving us a more professional look.
The picture below demonstrates the settings for the 24 frames per second look.
Screen Shot 2013-04-04 at 07.51.59

Once choosing the 24 frames per second effect, our footages will look like the picture below (Note: This is not our film)
Screen Shot 2013-04-04 at 07.42.26

Leave a Reply

